The Zodiac: Aries, Taurus & Gemini – a Summary from ‘The Magical Carousel’


The Zodiac is a belt of 9° on either side of the ecliptic of the Sun, not to be confused with the Constellation of similar names. The Zodiac is always the same, that is, it always begins at the vernal equinox with 0° Aries, when the Sun’s path along the ecliptic crosses the equator about March 21st each year, coinciding with the Constellations every 25,920 years, approximately. The word Zodiac derives from the Greek work zoe, meaning life, or zoion, living being.

The planets and Moon move along the ecliptic around the Sun, and these altogether – Sun, Moon, planets, asteroids, meteors and millions of stars in this Galaxy, revolve in turn around the galactic centre. The Galaxy has a spiral structure. Thus there are circles within greater circles within even greater circles, all contributing to form the sublime harmony of the spheres.



Chapter I – Aries

Aries is a sign of the Fire element, which is related to the Spirit. It is masculine and of Cardinal Energy Quality – the first creative impact of the season, with direction and impulse.

The first Zodiacal sign is ruled by Mars, the planet of energy, vital force or power, and it is on this note that manifestation begins; it can be said that Power is the “do” on the scale of creation. Here it is seen as the Divine Spark, and thus Aries is the Cosmic Dawn.


Chapter II – Taurus

Taurus is an Earth sign, an element that corresponds to Matter, as Fire does to Spirit; it is feminine, of Fixed Energy – a mid-seasonal, steady flow, and it is ruled by Venus.

The Sun, symbol of the Divine, moves along the ecliptic, illuminating each Zodiacal sign it touches on its apparent journey. As seen in this fantasy, all the lands exist simultaneously but the individual’s experience is that of a progressive unfoldment. And so Matter exists, but when the spark of Spirit touches it there is a quickening, an awakening of inherent Life. This is the symbol of Malamulapaga. The individual affords a further possibility within the Play: it is the children who make the movement of progression within the eternal possible.


Chapter III – Gemini

Gemini is an Air sign, an element having particular affinity with the mental plane. It is masculine and of Mutable Energy – the wavering unsteady flow of end season, sensitive and changeful but without force or direction. It is ruled by Mercury, the asexual planet, whose function is to mirror the light of other planets: the instrument or messenger of the Gods.

The previous sign, Taurus, represents a sort of Garden of Eden, and after passage through Gemini and the subsequent duality of division occurring, of which mind itself is unaware, there is then the “fall”. With this sign the first trinity of Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable Qualities is completed, movements that can be viewed as Creation, Preservation and Destruction. This is to repeat itself four times within the wheel, each time corresponding to a further development, an ever greater possibility on the spiral of creation.

Patrizia Norelli-Bachelet, The Magical Carousel (1970)
[Picture of Zodiac and heiroglyphs added]

Introduction: The Zodiac & the Perception of Unity
2nd Quadrant: Cancer, Leo and Virgo
3rd Quadrant: Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius
4th Quadrant: Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces

By lori